Delegate Ariana Kelly (D16) Elected Montgomery County House Democratic Caucus Chair

1 Comment(s) Posted



Contact:  Sara Hartman  301-858-3018 

New Montgomery County House Delegation Leadership Elected with Commitment to Economic Development, Education, and Transportation for Montgomery County

Delegate Shane Robinson Heads New Leadership Team Also Promising Capacity Building for Montgomery County's Increasingly Diverse 24 Member House Delegation

ROCKVILLE, MD, December 9, 2014 -- The Montgomery County House Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly elected Delegate Shane Robinson as its Chair and Delegate Kirill Reznik as Vice Chair at the Delegation's post-election organizational meeting Monday evening.  The Montgomery County House Democratic Caucus also elected Delegate Ariana Kelly as their Chair. 

Delegate Robinson's platform promised a focus on Montgomery County priorities and a commitment to working cooperatively with Speaker Busch and the Democratic leadership of the House of Delegates, as well as Governor-Elect Hogan to accomplish these goals.  Robinson stated, "Prioritizing economic development in Montgomery County cuts across party lines and is in the best interest of the entire state.  For economic development to happen, we must invest in our transportation infrastructure and our public school system.  I'm looking forward to working with Governor-Elect Hogan, Speaker Busch, and my colleagues across the state to ensure economic growth throughout Montgomery County."

At a time when Economic Development issues are critical, the new leadership team brings significant experience from the private sector to their roles in the Montgomery County House Delegation.  With the need to effectively address unprecedented growth in the Montgomery County Public School system identified as another top priority, it is also notable that all three are also parents of current or future Montgomery County Public School students. 

In reviewing past successes and looking to the future, incoming Delegation Vice Chair Kirill Reznik (D-39) said, "The Montgomery County Delegation is proud of our past achievements in bringing needed economic development, transportation, and education funding and policy back home.  We look forward to working with our colleagues in Rockville and Annapolis in making sure that Montgomery County continues to be the economic engine of the State and a wonderful community to live, work, and raise a family."

The 2014 Montgomery County House of Delegates Delegation to Annapolis is the most diverse in the county's history.  The 24 members include 8 women.  The Delegation also includes three Asian-American Delegates, three Hispanic Delegates, and two African-American Delegates.  In addition, the Delegation includes two members of the LGBT community.  With 24 members, Montgomery County has the largest single County Delegation in the state of Maryland.

Incoming Democratic Caucus Chair Delegate Ariana Kelly (D-16) says the leadership team is committed to developing capacity within the entire caucus, stating "Montgomery County's strength comes from our diversity.  It is through working together we will strengthen each other, and best advocate for our county's needs and our shared values across the state."

Information on the Montgomery County Delegation can be found here:

#   #   #


  1. Review's avatar


    Coming from also created diagnostic testing where saliva is used as a systemic indication. Brand new services are
    usually continuously tempting people with immediate
    health, prosperity or popularity. We have to know each sides of the same gold
    coin of living. The quantity of solar energy which usually reaches the particular panel is crucial.

Leave a Comment